Home > Competition Entry > It pays to be funny

It pays to be funny

Flowing Data have a challenge going on at the moment: Visualise This – TV’s Top Earners.

While I have an interest in these things I’m not a designer, I’m not a data scientist, and given the work I do, I only sort of qualify as an analyst anymore.
But that doesn’t stop me trying…

Let me know what you think of my entry.

Keith

“If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again. Then quit. There’s no point in being a damn fool about it.” – W.C.Fields

 

PS. You should also check out Juice Analytic’s online visualisation tool, as well as their updated data set.

  1. Me
    17 February, 2011 at 6:37 am

    Looks good! How did you learn to make infographics, and what did you use to create the bar chart?

    • 17 February, 2011 at 8:32 am

      Hi Me
      I’m a hack. I have learned by looking at all the wonderful material others have already made and shared their knowledge on. My original background is research so that is where my analytical background comes from.
      I created the page is created within PowerPoint (see, I’m a hack). The chart is actually 2 excel column charts put together – a little bit more manually that I would prefer.
      Thanx for the comment
      K

  2. Harry Vosper
    17 February, 2011 at 9:38 am

    This might interest you, it was put together by Sony and played to their execs at a conference.

    Cheers

    • 17 February, 2011 at 9:53 am

      Thanx Harry
      I saw this one when it first came out. There are some great little tricks to displaying information in there, and its in video :-).
      Just one of the many things I have learned little bits and pieces from.
      Thanx for visiting
      K

  3. Bartos
    17 February, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    I give the graph an 8, the wit a 7, the MSPaint TV a 9… however the use of a blue to cyan gradient in the background sets the overall rating at about a 2.
    Stay tuned for my entry, which i will be completing using flash so that the Apple-Puppies can’t get their stinking hands on the thing

    • 17 February, 2011 at 4:59 pm

      Thanx Bartos
      The graphs are Excel (x2), the TV is some shapes in PowerPoint (same for the male/female characters). The wit is me going “what would Bartos do here…?”.
      Look forward to seeing yours Bart
      K

  1. 14 April, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

